ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages


Mutyumu - 2007 - "Mutyumu"

(67:23 / G Cassette)


TRACK LIST:                                 
1.  Koku 5:28
2.  Zantetsu 4:44
3.  Kronos Kairos 5:46
4.  Fujyo Kouhuku Sanka 6:14
5.  Sonzai No Kakuritsu 3:17
6.  Madouin Mousou Tenshi Kyoku 4:55
7.  Tetsu No Hanataba 8:53
8.  Syosou Kuka Gengai No Sirabe 4:30
9.  Rakuen 12:44
10. Mumu No Renzokukousa 1:41
11. Hakugoku No Yume 4:46
12. Tata 4:25


Ryota Yoda - guitars
Jyunpei Suda - drums
Hachisunoit - vocals
Yuko Ikenaga - keyboards
Chiaki Okamoto - violin, bass

Prolusion. MUTYUMU is a band from Japan, formed in 2001, and their self-titled debut was released in October 2006 (distributed by Poseidon Records).

Analysis. Mutyumu list an extensive roster of influences to their music; among the artists mentioned are Johann Sebastian Bach, Dead Can Dance, U2, Nine Inch Nails and Dimmu Borgir - a wide range of influences, all of which are actual musical references. Ambient moods are the red thread in the 12 songs on this release, always present in varying degrees, whereas the musical styles explored are more or less different from one composition to the next. Koku explores an ambient musical landscape with slight jazz tendencies, evolving into a grandiose epic soundscape. Zantetsu is a lighter folk-inspired composition. Kronos Kairos mixes influences from ambient space music with metal. Fujyo Kouhuku Sanka starts out as aggressive metal that suddenly transforms into a fragile classical and folk influenced tune with piano, vocals and violin dominating. Sonzai No Kakuritsu consists of layers of operatic choir vocals, where whispered vocals and static noises create a distinctly creepy atmosphere. Madouin Mousou Tenshi Kyoku is dominated by industrial and black metal. Tetsu No Hanataba mixes indie rock and ambient moods and evolves into a majestic symphonic rock soundscape towards the end. Syosou Kuka Gengai No Sirabe is an ambient synth composition with ideas from classical and folk music added. Rakuen basically explores all moods and elements introduced previously on this release. Mumu No Renzokukousa is another song heavy on the ambient factor, this time incorporating classical music and jazz styles. Hakugoku No Yume is a dark soundscape containing elements from folk, metal and jazz, and final track Tata is a mellow and melancholy ambient tune with jazz influences. Mutyumu comes across as a band highly skilled in making compositions in a multitude of genres. They know how to make a tune interesting, and have some stunning songs here, with Zantetsu, Kronos Kairos and Sonzai No Kakuritsu in particular being clear personal favorites. What may be off-putting to many is the sheer level of variation on this release though. Many will find some tunes to be very intriguing, but I suspect the majority won't find the album as a whole to be that interesting due to the plethora of styles explored.

Conclusion. A weird and wonderful musical journey awaits people purchasing this release. It should be checked out prior to purchasing though, as the music here won't appeal to all and sundry. Fans of experimental music in general, and in particular those with musical tastes ranging from metal to ambient, classical and jazz should find this release to be quite fascinating.

OMB=Olav M Bjornson: February 1, 2008

Related Links:

Poseidon Records


ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages