ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages


Laurent Colomne - 2006 - "Monstres et Chimeres"

(49 min, Musea: Dreaming)

TRACK LIST:                    

1.  Lamie 4:16
2.  La Licorne 4:28
3.  Big Foot 4:30
4.  Monolith 1:43
5.  Les Nereides 9:06
6.  Petite Suite Chimerique 12:15
7.  Le Minotaure 4:25
8.  Le Phoenix 3:41
9.  Elise et la Licorne 4:33


Laurent Colomne - keyboards; flute; acoustic guitar; programming

Prolusion. Laurent COLOMNE is a music teacher (of wind instruments) from Belgium, specializing mainly in music theory. The material under review, "Monsters & Chimeras", is the first realization of Laurent's cherished ambition to create an album of his own compositions.

Analysis. Overall, this music can be classified as electronically symphonic Prog with elements of New Age and Classical. It's woven mainly of passages of various synthesizers, which are from time to time crossed by those of flute and acoustic guitar. The use of electronic drums is quite limited. The album's title, as well as its nominal thematic orientation, quite strongly conflicts with its actual 'stuffing', because the music is mostly soft, melodic and atmospheric with no dark, aggressive or even mysterious shades in its palette, although the mood varies, sometimes within the framework of the same piece. Some of the nine instrumentals present are notable for their academic approach, clearly displaying that Laurent has conservatory education and is a classically trained musician. The longest one, Petite Suite Chimerique, is especially eloquent in this respect, plus it's the richest in sound, involving all the instruments credited. It consists of three movements, which while differing among themselves thematically and in mood, are all subjected to the laws of Classical Academic music, even though they're performed with a wide use of modern technologies. That said, this is my favorite track on the CD, perhaps just due to its classical nature. The other pieces are also quite good, but they are inferior to Petite Suite Chimerique (well, it's not too petite/little, exceeding 12 minutes) in complexity, some being not too consistent stylistically. While I accept a combination of New Age, Ambient and Classical music, I hardly tolerate when the latter adjoins purely electronic stuff or, as is in the case of Elise, Latin-style jazz.

Conclusion. Laurent Colomne's music doesn't bear any obvious influences. Nonetheless I think I have to name some well-known musicians and bands and, therefore, give you a more vivid idea of the recording: Contrappunto Project, Solaris, Mike Oldfield, Vangelis, Tangerine Dream, Kitaro and Jean Michel Jarre. If your horizon is so wide that it embraces all the tacit stylings (so different!), you can bravely check this CD out. Personally I recognize only the first three of them, at least from a progressive standpoint.

VZ: May 27, 2006

Related Links:

Musea Records


ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages