ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages


Klotet - 2010 - "Det Har Aldrig Hant Och Kommer Aldrig Handa Igen"

(37:50, Musea Records)

TRACK LIST:                   

1.  Gastronomiska Proportioner 2:25
2.  Sket Man Val 2:33
3.  Dodad av Doden 3:32
4.  Falska Pengar 2:38
5.  Hjarnsubstans 2:22
6.  Hallplats Hades 2:37
7.  Oj 1:26
8.  Ekot Fran Avgrunden 3:55
9.  Atomvinter 3:06
10. Kapten Sjobjorn 2:58
11. Brakander Boogie 3:19
12. Det Har Aldrig Hant Och Kommer Aldrig Handa Igen 7:00


Pahl Sundstrom  guitars 
David Hallberg  bass 
Mikal Styrke  drums 
Milve Sofia Rydahl  keyboards 

Prolusion. The Swedish quartet KLOTET was formed in 2004, and honed its craft for the next four years, when it landed a record deal with the French label Musea Records, which subsequently issued its initial effort "En Rak Hoger". Two years later a second production is ready to be released. This time the creation is named "Det Har Aldrig Hant Och Kommer Aldrig Handa Igen" and was issued in the spring of 2010.

Analysis. I really wonder what direction this band has taken since their first production from 2008. As the material on this second effort of theirs was recorded at the same time as their debut album was released, this CD won't answer that question for obvious reasons. I am intrigued by this band though, and if they manage to expand their sonic palette a bit I do believe we're dealing with a band with the potential to craft great and innovative material in the future. Their most recent creations from the summer of 2008, which make up this production, aren't too shabby either. The foundation for these all-instrumental escapades is an energetic rhythm section, pace-filled and aggressive drums, supplemented quite nicely with a driving bass guitar, both of which have distinct new wave expressions, verging on and at times taking on a more distinct punk delivery straightforward and with no obvious frills. Contrasting and building upon this firmament are keys and guitars, the former often in the shape of the organ and fluctuating textures, the latter either partially harmonizing with its own fluctuating motif or underscoring with staccato guitar licks. The guitar sound is mostly undistorted, which in itself creates an intriguing contrast with the bass and drums, whose style of delivery almost begs for the use of aggressive, distorted guitar riffs. Compositionally, the band explores a dual set of motifs in these rather compact excursions, where lighter interwoven circulating patterns and more aggressive staccato themes switch back and forth, on occasion with a few brief prologs or interludes added in. Quirky and intricate details from keys and guitars are frequent, but only rarely apparent much less dominating. This rather limited scope does result in frequent repetition, and wisely enough the band has chosen not to elaborate too much in these pieces, the majority of the tracks clocking in at about three minutes, which suits these compositions and concepts quite nicely. It's hard to find any direct comparisons for this band; in terms of overall style I'd be hard-pressed to make a decision on where to place this act: somewhere within the art rock territory is probably the best estimate of where to categorize them.

Conclusion. Punk and progressive rock have for many been mutually exclusive styles, and rock journalists in particular have tried to alienate these genres as much as possible. Many avant-garde outfits did draw inspiration from punk and New Wave. though, and Swedish band Klotet does the same, in this case utilizing that inspiration to craft songs drawing from the 70's art rock palette and blending them quite nicely with the aggression of the late 70's musical rebels. Those who find themselves intrigued by that description better pay this band's homepage a visit, as there's a progressive art-punk band there eagerly awaiting your attention.

OMB=Olav M Bjornsen: Jan 7, 2010
The Rating Room

Related Links:

Musea Records


ProgressoR / Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages